AIA FW Committees

Design Awards [David Lee] davidl@qarch.com

Design Awards recognizes outstanding work by Fort Worth architects, both in the metropolitan area and across the country. It honors the architects, clients and con­sultants who work together to achieve design excellence. The event brings in noted jurors from around the world . The Student Design Awards showcase diverse projects which receive Honor & Merit Awards.  Student Honor Awards include a $500 schol­arship fund.

Programs [Cole Lorenz] clorenz@vlkarchitects.com

Honors and Awards [Stuart Everett] – SEverett@bbptx.com

Exhibits [Rebecca Palluth] – RPalluth@multatech.com

The Exhibits Committee showcases art by architects, case studies, design competitions and more throughout the year. These exhibits display the endless talent of our architectural community and serve as an alternative platform to introduce architects and architecture to the public though their work. Though we display multiple exhibits throughout the year, the annual spring event is “A House for…” art by architects and silent auction in conjunction with the Homes Tour; the annual fall event is a Photography by architects exhibit which we display and sell at Arts Goggle in Near Southside Fort Worth! To learn more or help out, this committee meets the second Thursday of every month.

Golf [Justin Hiles] -jhiles@vlkarchitects.com

The Fort Worth AlA/CSI Acme Brick Golf Tournament has brought architects, engineers, vendors and a variety of industry-related players together to compete and build strong relationships since 1991. This annual event supports student scholarships and community projects for both AIA and CSI. Funds are also collected at the tournament to provide donations to both the Tarrant Area Food Bank and the Injured Marine Semper Fi Fund.

Homes Tour [Josh Wilson] –jwilson@vlkarchitects.com

The Homes Tour showcases the finest residential architecture in the Fort Worth Area with a variety of living accommodations and architectural styles. This self-guided tour attracts the public from far and wide, displaying the talent and vital role of the architect.  Our committee meets every other Wednesday from August through April.

Disaster Relief Committee (Joint Committee with AIA Dallas) [Don Gatzke]- gatzke@uta.edu

Sporting Clay [Mark LeMay] – mlemay@jqeng.com

The ACME Brick Sporting Clay Classic, held in conjunction with the University of Texas at Arlington’s Architecture Department, provides financial support for student scholarships and programs.  Architects, consultants, contractors and other design and construction-related individuals form teams to compete for bragging rights and “Top Gun” honors in an collaborative and festive atmosphere.  Started in 2005 by the late Sandra Dennehy, Past President of AIA Fort Worth, the event has funded a commitment to UTA’s “Maverick Match” Scholarship program to the tune of $25,000, and provided annual stipends to UTA’s AIA Student Chapter and to Tarrant County College Scholarship fund.

CES [Eric Brooks] – EBrooks@gsbsarchitects.com

Emerging Professionals [Edison Calvopina] – ecalvopina@brwarch.com

Advocacy [Nolan Bradshaw] – nolan@cornerstonedbac.com

Digital Communications [Brian Paletz] – bpaletz@bokapowell.com

The Digital Communications Committee helps guide the development and use of media and communication through digital sources.  These tools help to expand the voice of AIAFW and local architects by creating and promoting content that is relevant to both members and the architectural community.

LIA [Joey Mejia, Dennis Chiessa] – chiessa@exchange.uta.edu, jmejia@bokapowell.com

Latinos in Architecture serves and supports our local communities and strengthen relationships and networks between professionals in the field of Architecture.  We will also work to be a positive influence for Latino students aspiring to become Architects, by finding opportunities to volunteer and get involved in community issues, providing guidance and expertise and participating in mentoring programs. LIA seeks to serve and support our local communities by establishing a forum for celebrating Latinos in the design related professions.  Latinos in Architecture intends to be an open resource group for architects, design professionals, educators, students, and the community.

WIA (MacKenzie McHale) – mmchale@e4harchitecture.com

Women in Architecture began to foster relationships between experienced female architects and emerging professionals who seek opportunities to connect.  Women in the workplace are growing in numbers, but as the trend for female leadership tries to catch up, we offer a place to voice concerns, share work experience, discuss challenges, and to reach out for support.  We are seeking mentors and those interested in building lasting connections to meet over dinner and drinks in a casual setting.  Together, we empower each other to transform our industry, workplaces, and community.

TCC Expo (John Earley) – jearley@cfarchitects.com

TACaiafw@aiafortworth.org

Future Convention Committee (Matt Green) – matt@urbanbobcat.com