AIA Fort Worth Awards Ceremony


2017 AIA FW Honor and Design Award Recipients

Honor Awards

CERTIFICATE OF APPRECIATION – Brian Hadar McLaughlin Brunson Insurance Agency
Certificate of Appreciation – Thomas Perez ARC Document Solutions
Certificate of Appreciation – Terri Thornton Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth

QUALITY IN CONSTRUCTION / ARTISAN AWARD: Brad Rhodes with Finishing Wizardry

EXCELLENCE IN SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT AWARD -Friends of the Fort Worth Nature Center; Refuge- Chris Smith (President) City of Fort Worth Parks and Recreation Department- Rob Denkhaus (Nature Center
Manager) and Reginald Hurd (Assistant Director of the Park and Recreation Department)


YOUNG PROFESSIONAL AWARD Matt Green, AIA, NCARB – Urban Bobcat Architects

COMMUNITY AWARD – Dennehy Architects – Paul Dennehy AIA, Don Gatzke AIA, and Dennis Chiessa, AIA

JAMES R. WOOTEN SERVICE AWARD – Bart Shaw, AIA – Ibanez Shaw Architecture

25-YEAR AWARD – Axe House designed by Emery Young AIA.
Joseph Glenn, owner of the Axe house.
Barbara Lee Young, wife of Emery and their daughter, Michele are also presented the
Twenty-Five year Award.

2017 Design Awards winners

Merit Award:

Some Place Like Home – Yixin Zhou and Xiaoyun Ni – Rice University School of Architecture
Hygienic Circus – Monica Burckhardt and Drew Heller – Rice University School of Architecture

Honor Awards:
Periphery Party – Ibrahim Salman and Sai Ma – Rice University School of Architectur
The Monastery of Refuge – Mabel S.W. Loh and Claire Townley – University of Texas at Austin

Studio Awards:
● Prototype Infill House – Dennehy Architects
● Limelight – Ibanez Shaw Architecture

Merit Awards:

● Ennis Public Theatre – Ibanez Shaw Architecture

● Urban Union – Bennett Benner Partners Architects + Planners
● Tarrant County Courthouse – Arthur Weinman Architects
● Cattle Barn – Hahnfeld Hoffer Stanford

Honor Awards:
● Northside Branch Boys & Girls Club – Ibanez Shaw Architecture

● Fort Worth Camera – Ibanez Shaw Architecture