2018 AIAFW Student Design Awards

The AIA Fort Worth Excellence in Design Awards Program recognizes outstanding work by students of the 8 accredited architecture schools of Texas. Annually, a jury of prominent regional architects is assembled to select projects for recognition. The jury reviewed 56 projects and singled out 4 projects for recognition.


2018 Jury:

Russell Buchanan, FAIA, of Buchanan Architecture

Richard Hunt, AIA of VLK Architects

Janie Garner, AIA of Hanfeld Hoffer Stanford .



Congratulations to the 2018 AIAFW Student Design Award Recipients!




Honor Award Recipient






Project: Après le Déluge

Students: Will Letchinger and Jonathan Wilkinson
School: Rice University







Merit Award Recipients






Project: Break-Time!

Student: Alfred Xuanyu Wei
School: Rice University












Project: The House of Artificial Light

Student: Danton Kranz and Alan Escareño
School: Texas Tech University








Project: Inhabit
Student: André Boudreaux, Andrea Becker, Anthony Vannette, Avignon Greene, Brooke Burnside, Hugo Reynolds, Joey Rocha, Patrick Schoonover, Rebecca Kennedy, Sean Reynolds, Ui Jun Song, Whitney Moore
School: The University of Texas at Austin