2013 Student Design Awards


2013 Student Design Awards

Fort Worth, Texas – THE American Institute of Architects Fort Worth held their annual Design Awards Jury on Tuesday January 7th at The Center for Architecture Fort Worth. The design competition is open to any student enrolled in one of the 8 accredited schools of architecture in the state of Texas. Of the several projects submitted, jurors Michael Malone, AIA, Chad Davis AIA and Agustin Siquot Associate AIA, singled out 2 projects to receive awards. Among projects of varied size, function, and budget, 1 Honor Award and 1 Merit Award were recognized to recognize exceptional excellence in design. The Honor Award also includes a $500 scholarship from AIA Fort Worth. The recipients of the award will be recognized and their projects presented at AIAFW’s annual awards gala January 25th. Quotes from the jurors are included.

Honor Award:
Inuit Art Gallery and Learning Center Annex
Students: Nicholas Steshyn and Kevin Kinsey
University: The University of Texas at Austin

“The beautiful graphics and final building design are a reflection of the thoughtful approach to the project. The right moves were made with the right elements. “ – Chad Davis, AIA

“Let alone being extensively documented, the project tells a story. Conceiving an interesting interpretation of the Inuit culture, each space has a metaphorical significance. The building’s geometry provokes the user, encouraging the process of exploration and learning.“ – Agustina Siquot, Assoc. AIA

Merit Award:
Parkland Community Clinic
Students: Matthew Morris and Donovan Howard
University: The University of Texas at Arlington

“This project does a nice job of extending the new image for Parkland hospital. The exterior elevations were well thought-out and highly detailed.” – Chad Davis, AIA

The project is ambitious and keen to integrate sustainable design features. The building is attractive, with nicely balanced lighting, colors and proportions. “ – Agustina Siquot, Assoc. AIA




•Must be enrolled in Architecture at a NAAB accredited Texas university
•Entry is limited to any projects completed as part of academic coursework
1) pdf – slideshow limited 8mb and 20 pages
2) pdf – description limited to 125 words or less, with one represenative image
3) Entry Form •Names of entrant or their university may not appear on slideshow or
•$20 per entry
•Pay Online (see below) or by check (make checks payable to AIA Fort Worth)
•Email submission to AIAFW@AIAFORTWORTH.ORG by 5pm on December 20th, 2013
•Email or mail form and fee to AIAFW office postmarked by December 20th, 2013
3425 West 7th Street
Fort Worth, TX 76107

Questions? Contact AIA Fort Worth
email: aiafw@aiafortworth.org
phone: 817.334.0155

Entries Due 12.20.2013

Post a Comment