Student Design Awards


Honor Award:
Inuit Art Gallery and Learning Center Annex
Students: Nicholas Steshyn and Kevin Kinsey
University: The University of Texas at Austin

“The beautiful graphics and final building design are a reflection of the thoughtful approach to the project. The right moves were made with the right elements. “ – Chad Davis, AIA

“Let alone being extensively documented, the project tells a story. Conceiving an interesting interpretation of the Inuit culture, each space has a metaphorical significance. The building’s geometry provokes the user, encouraging the process of exploration and learning.“ – Agustina Siquot, Assoc. AIA

Merit Award:
Parkland Community Clinic
Students: Matthew Morris and Donovan Howard
University: The University of Texas at Arlington

“This project does a nice job of extending the new image for Parkland hospital. The exterior elevations were well thought-out and highly detailed.” – Chad Davis, AIA

The project is ambitious and keen to integrate sustainable design features. The building is attractive, with nicely balanced lighting, colors and proportions. “ – Agustina Siquot, Assoc. AIA



Fort Worth TX,-  The American Institute of Architects Fort Worth held their annual Student Design Awards Jury on Thursday January 10 at The Center For Architecture Fort Worth. The number of entries this year far exceeded previous years and of the 36 projects submitted by students from all 8 architecture programs in Texas, jurors Emery Young Emeritus AIA, Paul Dennehy AIA and RickWintersole AIA, singled out 5 projects to receive awards. Among projects of varied size and function, 2 Honor Awards to recognize exceptional excellence in design and 3 merit awards were presented. The two Honor award recipients will also receive a $500 scholarship sponsored by Fort Worth Architecture firms Bennett Benner Pettit Archite + Planners and VLK Architects.

 Honor Award – Andros Workshop, Nic Allinder – University of Texas – Austin

Honor Award– BBP.FT, Christopher Arth – Texas Tech University

Merit Award Holland Tunnel Toll Booth, Justin Kyle Bell – Texas Tech University

Merit Award Birdwatch Towers, Erling Cruz – University of Houston

Merit Award Buffalo Bayou Cocoon, Tiger Lyon – University of Houston

Post a Comment