Honors and Awards



Quality in Construction / Artisan Award – Mr. Brent Hull – Hull Historical

Young Professional Award – Gannon Gries, AIA -Bennett Benner Partners Architects + Planners

Community Award – Michael Bennett, AIA -Bennett Benner Partners Architects + Planners

Honorary Membership – Jennifer Conn -Arts Council of Fort Worth

25-Year Award – The Fort Worth Municipal Building

Certificates of Appreciation
Mark LeMay, AIA
Arnie Radman, AIA
Ana-Sofia Gonzalez
John Earley, AIA
Richard Jaynes, AIA


  • Pax & Parker – Bart Shaw. AIA
  • Memory: Fairmont Park – Bart Shaw, AIA


  • Cultural District Office Remodel –  Bennett Benner Partners
  • Le Cep Restaurant – Bennett Benner Partners
  • Condit Elementary School – VLK Architects


  • STEAM Academy | Fort Worth –  VLK Architects
  • Heritage Park Plaza Restoration –  A Joint Venture with Bennett Benner Partners & Studio Outside
  • Grandview City Hall – Bart Shaw, AIA

2015 AIA Fort Worth Awards

2015 AIAFW Honor Award Recipients

Quality in Construction – Ken Evans and Scott Price, Fort Construction
Excellence In Sustainable Development Award – Friends of Tandy Hills Natural Area
Young Professional Award- Amanda Schulte, AIA – Bennett Benner Partners
President’s Award- Cory Griffin, AIA – Perkins + Will
James R. Wooten Service Award – Norman Ward, AIA – Norman Ward Architect
25 Year Award- Marty Leonard Chapel
Community Award- Robert Adams, AIA
Honorary Memberships  – Frank Sherwood, Hon. AIA and Meda Kessler, Hon. AIA

2015 AIAFW Design Awards


Amphibian Stage Productions -Greg Ibañez, FAIA, Ibañez Architecture
Ceverine School – Tommy Stewart, AIA, Architecture West and Architecture for Humanity
Huynh Residence – Norman Ward, AIA, Norman D. Ward Architect


Weatherford College Wise County – VLK Architects
Hollenstein Career and Technology Center – VLK Architects
Near South Studios – VLK Architects
3850 Washburn Ave. – Greg Ibañez, FAIA, Ibañez Architecture


Chroma – Bart Shaw, AIA, Bart Shaw Architect
Fallen Log – Marta Rozanich, AIA, Konstrukcio Studio

2015 AIAFW Student Design Awards 


Tower Therapy – Clare van Montfrans & Elizabeth Farrell
Museo Del Contacto – Josh Lamden, Jessi Kulow & Ana Lozano
Essex Crossing: Timber in the City Competition – Amy McDonnold & Alex Warr


Library for Tororo – Krishnan Lal Mistry
University of Houston Coastal Center: Green Airport – Alejandra Cervantes
Engawa Home – Zerik Kendrick

2014 AIA Fort Worth Awards

2014 Honor Award Recipients

Quality in Construction – Mario Camilleri, Camilleri Custom Cabinetry
Excellence In Sustainable Development Award – Redenta’s
Young Professional Award– Brandon Burns, AIA – Bennett Benner Partners
President’s Award– Sandra Dennehy. AIA – Dennehy Architects
25 Year Award– M. Moudy Visual Arts and Communications Building
Community Award– Jerre Tracy, Honorary AIA – Historic Fort Worth, Inc.
Certificates of Appreciation – Chris Ortiz, Assoc. AIA and Silvia Malavasi, Int. Assoc. AIA

AIAFW Design Awards

Merit Awards

Erma Lowe Hall- TCU School of Classic & Contemporary Dance – Bennett Benner Partners
Silo– Ibañez Architecture
Citation Awards

G Model– Bart Shaw Architect
Overton Ridge Interior Improvements – Norman Ward Architect
Paintball– Bart Shaw Architect
Studio Awards

Memory: Fairmount Park – Bart Shaw, AIA
SEWN: Triangle Fire Memorial Design – Bart Shaw, AIA

AIAFW Student Design Awards

Honor Awards

Reclaiming Urban Ecologiies – Richard L. Lucio, Texas Tech University
Merit Awards

Labrynth Lattice: An Adaptive Reuse of Highland Mall – Ana Cristina Sotelo – University of Houston
Citation Awards

A Museum of the Hudson Estuary – Alexei Dukov – University of Texas at Arlington
Urban Incision: Lower East Side Maritime Museum – Edgar Ivan Ramirez – University of Texas at Arlington



Announcing the 2013 Honor Awards Recipients.

The chapter’s 2013 Honors and Awards Dinner will be held January 25, 2014 in the new auditorium of the Renzo Piano Pavilion.  The afternoon will begin at 12:00pm with appetizers and drinks, followed by the award presentations.

Here are the 2013 recipients.

AIA FW Honorary Membership

Honorary membership is one of the highest honors the AIA Fort Worth Chapter can bestow upon a person outside the profession of architecture.  It is given to persons of esteemed character who are not eligible for membership in the AIA Fort Worth Chapter, but who have given distinguished service to the profession of architecture or the allied arts and sciences.

Jody Ulich, President
Arts Council of Fort Worth & Tarrant County


Quality in Construction Award

Established to recognize and honor a person or group for their constant search for quality and fine work, not simply competent execution; but work which comes from excellent judgment, skill and care in the process.

James Vreeland, President
Vreeland Construction, Inc.


Excellence In Sustainable Development Award

Tarrant Regional Water District
Trinity River Vision


James R. Wooten Service Award

Awarded to the AIA Fort Worth member who best exemplifies the characteristics of sustained, consistent and effective service in accomplishing the goals of the chapter.

Paul Dennehy, AIA
Dennehy Architects


President’s Citation

Established to recognize and honor a person or group in the community for their support of the chapter.

Brandon Burns, Assoc. AIA
Bennett Benner Pettit


25 Year Award

The test of time is used to single out the executed projects that receive this award, designed by an architect licensed in the United States, and important to the architectural history of Fort Worth.

First National Bank of Fort Worth Drive Through

Previous recipients have included the Amon Carter Museum, the Ruth C. Stevenson residence, the Kimbell Art Museum, the Tarrant County Courthouse, and the Fort Worth Water Gardens.  This year’s award is being presented to the National Bank Building based on the design concept for a period building that has stood the test of time.


Charles R. Adams Award for Design Excellence

Awarded to an AIA Fort Worth member who has demonstrated consistent building design excellence over a body of regional projects.

Norman Ward, AIA
Norman Ward Architect


2012 Honor Awards Recipients

Young Professional Award – Joey Mejia

Community Award – 360 West

Sustainability Award – Fort Worth ISD

Honorary Membership – Martha Peters

Presidents Award – Paul Dennehy

James Wooten Service Award –Sandra Dennehy


Certificate of Appreciation

Karen Benson – Steele Freeman, Inc.

Joe and Tracy Self- Firm 817